Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been a longtime fan of Prince.  When I was a kid, I had just about every album he released, and just like most teens and pre-teens in the 80s, I had the Purple Rain poster on my bedroom wall.  In my humble opinion, Prince is the  most talented artist around.  He’s a self taught musician, he writes and composes all of his music, as well as for other talented popular singers, and he can dance (that may be up for debate for some, but I love the way he moves).  Now, more than 30 years in the industry, Prince is finally getting the recognition he deserves, and it will be witnessed by millions of his fans.  On June 22, the man who loves his purple will be honored at the BET awards show with a Lifetime Achievement Award.  No one deserves it more than he does. 

Ironically, when I got home after work yesterday, Purple Rain was on MTV, and I had the chance to watch the last 15 minutes– my favorite part of the movie.  Here’s an advanced preview of what’s to come on the BET awards, ’cause you know he’s gonna show out!

