Tags

, , , ,

Ladies, ladies, ladies (I sound like I’m channeling Syleena Johnson).  But there’s a reason why I’m singing.  And you can probably guess about what from the picture on the right.  That’s right, I’m singing about Suave Almond and Shea Butter conditioner.  When I first saw the commercial, I didn’t pay that much attention to it, and my first initial thought was “Now everyone wants to put shea butter in their products.”  I proceeded to roll my eyes and tuned the commercial out.  But you know advertisers have a way of making you pay attention to them?  The commercial seems to air everytime I watch TV (which is quite often these days since I’m on break from school), and since I’m on this new healthy hair journey, I’m constantly researching healthy hair ingredients.  I’ve been reading on how shea butter rejuvenates dry, damaged hair, as well as locks and seals in moisture.  When I saw the commercial last week, I thought, “What the heck?” and purchased a large 32 oz bottle yesterday. 

I was even more excited to use it when I read the disclaimer on the bottle: Salon proven to moisturize as well as Aveda.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t believe everything I read, but any product that can work like or as well as Aveda without the hefty Aveda price tag makes me a happy consumer.  And this large bottle of moisturizing sensation was only $3.49.  A definite plus, wouldn’t you say? 

Anyway, I first gave myself a hot oil treatment before shampooing.  Then I followed up with the almond and shea butter conditioner, and my hair drank it right up.  It felt so good as I distributed it throughout my hair (from roots to ends).  But I didn’t stop there.  I also used it as a deep conditoner.  I mixed the conditioner with avocado and olive oils and slathered it all over my hair, placed my old faithful plastic cap on my head, and sat under the dryer for 30 minutes.  My fingers glided right through my soft strands as I rinsed it out. 

To style, I did a wet set.  You may remember from an earlier post that I attempted a wet set a few weeks ago, but to my dismay, the curls didn’t set.  What a difference a few weeks make (apparently, I’ve had a little more growth in this time) because may hair actually came out curly after it dried.  Not only did my hair come out curly, it came out silky smooth and soft to the touch thanks to Suave almond and shea butter conditioner.  I’m completely sold and hooked!  This will definitely become a part of my regular hair regimen.  And if you’ve been using this product, please share your story.

