Tags

, , , ,

Disclaimer: This logo is the property of Happy Black Woman http://happyblackwoman.com

Hard to believe it’s the first day of August, considering I just graduated from grad school this past May.  Seriously!  Where does the time go??? 

Today is also the first day of Rosetta Thurman’s all new 31 day-reset challenge.  I initially joined the challenge earlier this year, but never completed it because I had so much going on at one time and, unfortunately, I was a bit disorganized.  Now Rosetta has updated the challenge for 2011, and I’m so looking forward to seeing the new changes and exercises.

Day 1’s first exercise was simple enough:

1. Designate a blank notebook to ‘record our responses, insights, and “aha moments” throughout the challenge.’

I chose a yellow 5-subject spiral notebook I had lying around.  It tucks away nicely in my everyday purse so I can carry it around when I’m out and about to record my “aha” moments.

2. Choose a Personal Mantra.

For the 2010 reset challenge, my mantra was George Eliot’s quote, “It’s never too late to be what you might have been,” which I firmly believe.  Though it’s a personal mantra, for the new challenge I chose “I will not stand in my own way.”  It seems the older I get, I slowly lose my confidence, and it is because of fear that I have been getting in the way of accomplishing the success I have dreamed about since middle school. 

I’ve also taken comfort in scriptures such as Matthew 7:7– “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”  And Deuteronomy 31:6– “Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lory your God goes with you; he will never leave you or foresake you.”

I have many interests and talents and I refuse to not share them at the risk of given in to fear, which is not of God.  2 Timothy 1:7– “For God has not given the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

3. Choose a Theme Song.

As of late, my favorite artist is Corinne Bailey Rae and I can’t seem to get enough of her music.  “Seasons Change” has been on repeat on my computer for the past week.  The words say everything that I’m feeling, so it only makes sense to use it as my theme song.

To learn more about the 31 Day Reset or to participate in the challenge, click here.

